Clark-Harris Award

Each semester the English Department gives the Clark-Harris Graduate Achievement Award to a recent graduate of the program who excelled while enrolled. The recipient of this $600 award is chosen by the Graduate Advisory Committee, which bases its decision largely on the quality of students’ completed MA or MFA theses. Bruce B. Clark and John B. Harris, emeritus professors from the English Department, are the donors who make this award possible. No application is necessary.


The BYU English Department sponsors this award open to full-time undergraduate and graduate students.  The editors of Criterion choose the award winner from the literary analysis and criticism articles accepted for publication in the magazine.